

SENATE COMMITTEE ON STUDENT ACCESSIBILITY AND ACCOMMODATION SERVICES

MANDATE AND FUNCTIONS OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON STUDENT ACCESSIBILITY AND ACCOMMODATION SERVICES¹

This Committee originated as an ad hoc committee of Senate mandated to formulate a University policy on students with Special Needs. Once Senate adopted the policy (October, 1993), its members recommended that, in order to fulfill one item of the policy statement "Bishop's University will endeavor to continue to work towards the removal of barriers to students with disabilities", the Committee meet on an annual basis to review and identify gaps in services to students with disabilities and make recommendations where appropriate. This, then, is the current mandate of this Committee.

COMPOSITION AND MEMBERSHIP OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON STUDENT ACCESSIBILITY AND ACCOMMODATION SERVICES²

- Manager of Student Accessibility and Accommodation Services (Chair)
- One Coordinator of Student Accessibility and Accommodation Services
- One Coordinator of Student Accessibility and Accommodation Services (alternate)
- Two faculty representatives
- One full-time student nominated by SRC
- One part-time student nominated by SRC
- The Dean of Student Affairs
- The Director of English Writing Proficiency Program
- One consultant specifically invited
- One student user of Accessibility and Accommodations Services

¹ As approved by Senate at the 392nd Senate meeting on February 24, 1997.

² As revised by Senate at the 606th Senate meeting on November 22, 2019.

Where an asterisk (*) appears beside a name or position, the position is in the process of being populated or renewed.

Senate Committee on Student Accessibility and Accommodation Services						
			1 st Term		2 nd Term	
Name	Position	Nominated by:	Year 1	Year 2	Year 1	Year 2
T. Gagnon	Manager, Student Accessibility & Accommodation Services, Chair	Ex officio				
L. Rezlescu	Coordinator, Student Accessibility & Accommodation Services	Chair				
A. Manning	Coordinator, Student Accessibility & Accommodation Services (alternate)	Chair				
D. Miller	Faculty representative	Nominating Cttee	21/22	22/23		
D. Royea	Faculty representative	Nominating Cttee	22/23	23/24		
D. Gagné	Director of English Writing Proficiency Program	Ex officio				
S. Linden- Anderson	Dean of Student Affairs	Ex officio				
TBA	Part-Time Student	SRC				
V. Perak	Full-Time Student	SRC	22/23			
S. Knitter	Consultant, Specifically Invited	Nominating Cttee	22/23			
ТВА	Student user of Accessibility and Accommodation Services	Chair and SRC				