

## SENATE AD-HOC COMMITTEE FOR THE EWP/WRITING CENTRE

## MANDATE AND FUNCTIONS

As approved by Senate at the 603<sup>rd</sup> Senate Meeting on May 23, 2019.

- identify a validated writing exam to be used for diagnostic and placement purposes only;
- ◆ make a recommendation about a potential new graduation requirement in academic writing;
- examine the feasibility of identifying writing-intensive courses across the curriculum to ensure that students' academic writing is developed and assessed as part of all academic programs at Bishop's;
- make a recommendation relating to the resources allocated to the Writing Centre, including the possibility of a full-time Coordinator for the Writing Centre.

## **COMPOSITION AND MEMBERSHIP**

As approved by Senate at the 603<sup>rd</sup> Senate Meeting on May 23, 2019.

- ♦ The Vice-Principal Academic;
- ♦ One academic Dean;
- The Coordinator of the EWP Writing Centre and one other member;
- One representative from each division and school of the University;
- ♦ The University Librarian;
- One student Senator;
- One student representative (preference given to a part-time student).

Where an asterisk (\*) appears beside a name or position, the position is in the process of being populated or renewed.

| Ad-hoc committee for EWP/Writing Centre |   |                         |                      |        |                      |        |
|---|---|-------------------------|----------------------|--------|----------------------|--------|
|   |   |                         | 1 <sup>st</sup> Term |        | 2 <sup>nd</sup> Term |        |
| Name                                    | Position  | Nominated by:           | Year 1               | Year 2 | Year 1               | Year 2 |
| A. Webster                              | VP Academic & Research  | ex officio              |                      |        |                      |        |
| M. Murray                               | Academic Dean   | Principal               |                      |        |                      |        |
| D. Gagné                                | Coordinator of EWP<br>Writing Centre (or<br>designate) (Co-Chair) | ex officio              | 22/23                | 23/24  |                      |        |
| A. Petitclerc                           | Second member from Writing Centre                                 | Library                 | 22/23                | 23/24  |                      |        |
| M. Vigneault                            | Division of Social<br>Sciences                                    | Nominating<br>Committee | 20/21                | 21/22  | 22/23                | 23/24  |
| M. Boulet                               | Division of Natural<br>Sciences and<br>Mathematics                | Nominating<br>Committee | 22/23                | 23/24  |                      |        |
| P. McBrine                              | Division of Humanities  | Nominating<br>Committee | 19/20                | 20/21  | 22/23                | 23/24  |
| E. Gagnon                               | William School of<br>Business                                     | Nominating<br>Committee | 19/20                | 20/21  | 22/23                | 23/24  |
| T. Gulliver                             | School of Education   | Nominating<br>Committee | 19/20                | 20/21  | 22/23                | 23/24  |
| C. Lavallée-<br>Welch                   | University Librarian<br>(Co-Chair)                                | Ex officio              |                      |        |                      |        |
| T. Farouse                              | Student Senator   | Nominating<br>Committee | 22/23                |        |                      |        |
| V. Levesque                             | Student rep<br>(preference for part-<br>time)*                    | Nominating<br>Committee | 22/23                |        |                      |        |