

Bishop's University

MINUTES OF THE 525th MEETING OF SENATE

The 525th meeting of Senate took place on Monday, April 19th 2010 at 7:00 p.m. in McGreer 100.

Present: Dr. M. Childs was in the Chair, Ms. K. Allen, Dr. C. Beauchamp, Dr. C. Charpentier, Dr. J. Crooks, Ms. S. Faria, Dr. G. Gagné, Prof. C. Gibbs, Dr. R. Harries, Mr. S. Ho, Mr. Y. Jodoin, Dr. J.A. Kingsley, Dr. K. Hull, Dr. E. Levac, Prof. L. McRae, Mr. D. Miner, Dr. D.Millington, Dr. R. Osmun, Dr. E. Prusak, Dr. C. Rutihinda, Dr. J. Savage, Ms. R. Sheeran Ms. S. Wuite, Ms. Y. Zhang.

Regrets: Prof. C. Gibbs, Mr. M. Goldbloom, Dr. S. Harvey, Mr. Y. Holton, Dr. W. Marcantoni.

1/525 AGENDA

The agenda was approved after moving the following item:

6.1 Academic Administrative Structures Committee Report right after Business Arising

(Crooks/Rutihinda) Motion Carried

2/525 MINUTES

Ms R. Sheeran said the minutes of the 522nd meeting needed to be amended:

"the "Advisory Committee on Writing in English" which hadn't met since 1997" changed to

"the "Advisory Committee on Writing in English" which hadn't met since 2000"

The Minutes of the 522nd meeting were amended. (Sheeran/Hull) **Motion Carried**

The Minutes of the 524th meeting of Senate were approved as circulated. (Charpentier/Hull) **Motion Carried**

3/525 COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR

The Vice-Principal, Dr. M.Childs, welcomed the new Part-time Student Senator, Mr. Dale Miner.

4/525 BUSINESS ARISING

There was no Business Arising.

6/525 OTHER MATTERS

At this point, Dr. James Crooks assumed the chair.

6.1 Academic Administrative Structures Committee Report (document 525/6.1)

Dr. M. Childs reported on the highlights of the Academic Administrative Structures Committee Report. He said the Committee was consulting Senate on its report. Faculty members of the Academic Administrative Structures Committee were present at Senate and invited to answer questions.

Senators commented at length the report. The main issues and concerns discussed were:

- The possible appointment of a Dean who might be an external candidate.
- Deans should provided a link between faculty and administration. Should Deans
 be elected as usual or, selected as the report proposes? The main concern
 discussed was a greater possibility of a disconnect between faculty members
 with a Dean who is selected, rather than elected.
- Should Deans have their teaching load reduced to one course or no course?
- · Would keeping five divisions with five Deans better serve the students?

It was moved (Childs/Faria) that Senate endorses the recommendations of the report of the Academic Administrative Structures Committee to create an academic administrative structure consisting of the:

- Vice-Principal Academic
- Dean of Arts and Science
- Dean of the School of Education
- · Dean of the Williams School of Business

Such persons being ex-officio members of Senate.

Motion Carried with 16 votes in favour, 1 vote against and 3 abstentions.

5/525 COMMITTEE ITEMS

At this point, Dr. M. Childs assumed the chair.

5.1 Students with Disabilities (document 525/5.1)

Prof. L. McRae presented a document called the "Policy Regarding Students with Disabilities". The purpose of this policy is to clarify the rights and responsibilities of Bishop's University, its staff and students with respect to academic accommodations for students with disabilities. The office has been renamed "Students with Disabilities Office" (SDO). A full-time person has been hired for this office.

It was moved (McRae/Hull) that Senate adopt the Policy Regarding Students with Disabilities. **Motion Carried**

At this point, Dr. James Crooks assumed the chair.

5.2 SPARC Liberal Arts report (documents 525/5.2a, 2b, 2c)

Dr. Childs presented the external Report of the Program Review Committee of the Liberal Arts program. Senate received the report.

Dr. Childs presented a motion on the SPARC schedule for 2010-11. With the planned renovations of the science labs during the 2010 Summer, he indicated that the SPARC review of Biology, and Environmental Studies and Geography would have to be delayed to 2011.

It was moved (Childs/Ho) that the following programs be reviewed in Fall 2010 and in Winter 2011:

Fall 2010:

Computer Science

Winter 2011:

- Economics
- Music

And further, that the SPARC review of the programs of the Williams School of Business be postponed until Fall 2011.

Motion Carried

5.3 Senate Planning Committee: additional part-time credits (document 525/5.3)

Dr. Childs presented a short report of the Senate Planning Committee (SPC).

It was moved (Childs/Miner) that Senate approve the part-time stipends presented in the SPC report. **Motion Carried**

5.4 Senate Nominating Committee

At this point, Dr. M. Childs assumed the chair.

• ad hoc Research Space Committee (document 525/5.4.1)

Ms. R. Sheeran moved, seconded by Prof. L. McRae that Senate approve the following faculty members as members of the *ad hoc* Research Space Committee:

- Dr. Andrea Drumheller
- Dr. Trevor Gulliver
- Dr. Michael Richardson
- Dr. Dale Wood

Motion Carried

• Academic Standing / Admissions Policy Committee (document 525/5.4.2)

Ms. R. Sheeran moved, seconded by Mr. S. Ho that Senate approve the revised mandate and the composition of the Academic Standing / Admissions Policy Committee.

Motion Carried

6/525 OTHER MATTERS

At this point, Dr. James Crooks assumed the chair.

6.2 Motion to convert a sessional to a tenure stream position in Physics (document 525/6.2)

Dr. M. Childs said that from 2003 onward the Physics Department has had a continuing sessional member. Throughout this period (2003-2010), the sessional position has been continuously held by the same faculty member, who is about to enter his eighth successive year at Bishop's. The full time Collective Agreement is explicit that temporary appointments can in no case extend past three years.

It was moved (Childs/Hull) that Senate endorse the conversion of the current, continuing sessional position in Physics into a tenure stream position and that this position be offered to its incumbent. **Motion carried**

6.3 Motion to establish an Institutional Repository Committee (document 525/6.3)

At this point, Dr. M. Childs assumed the chair.

Ms. R. Sheeran presented the document.

It was moved (Sheeran/Wuite) that the Senate establish a Institutional Repository Standing Committee to develop and oversee the implementation of policies relating to the content and quality control of the documents contained in the repository, the management of intellectual property rights and the long term viability of the database.

Membership to include:

- Librarian (chairperson)
- Three faculty members
- One contract faculty member
- Director of Research
- One student

Motion Carried

7/525 RECOMMENDATIONS

- 7.1 Williams School of Business
- 7.2 Arts and Science
 - 7.2.1 Division of Humanities
 - 7.2.2 Division of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
 - 7.2.3 Division of Social Sciences
- 7.3 School of Education
- 7.4 Continuing Education

8/525 BRIEF INFORMATION

The date of the next Senate Meeting has been moved from May 12 to May 19 at 4:00 p.m. in McGreer 100.

Mr. Sam Ho, VP Academic of the SRC presented the new Students Senators for 2010-11:

- Elizabeth Robichaud, VP Academic
- Justin McCarthy, Science Senator
- Hazeline Delos Trinos, Social Sciences Senator
- Jenna Smith, Education Senator
- Felix Hivon-Vaillancourt, Business Senator
- Nicholas Seebruch, Humanities Senator (Applause)

The meeting adjourned at 8:23 pm.	
Dr. Michael Childs, Chair	Mr. Yves Jodoin, Secretary