BISHOP'S UNIVERSITY

MINUTES OF THE 436th MEETING OF SENATE

The 436th meeting of Senate, a Special Meeting, was held on Wednesday 28 March 2001, at 4:30 p.m., in Tomlinson Hall, McGreer 100.

Members present: Mrs. J. Hodder, in the Chair; Dr. S. Black, Mrs. R. Cavanagh, Dr. M. Childs, Dr. A. Dean, Dr. A. Drumheller, Mrs. W. Durrant, Dr. K. Hull, Dr. N. Jones, Dr. P. Leventhal, Prof. L. McRae, Ms. S. Mitton, Ms. A. Montgomery, Dr. J. Rittenhouse, Dr. C. Rose, Mr. J. Stewart, Dr. L. Thomas, Dr. G. Wickens, Dr. B. Willms, Dr. L. Zubieta

Absent: Mr. P. Camino, Ms. S. Hodge, Dr. A. Johnson, Dr. K. McLean, Prof. B. Robson, Dr. V. Stroeher

1/436 APPOINTMENT OF A VICE-PRINCIPAL ADMINISTRATION AND FINANCE

Mrs. Hodder thanked Senators for making themselves available for this special meeting. She referred to the provision in the Rules, Orders and Regulations (7.1.1) whereby Officers of the University are to be appointed by the Corporation, after consultation with the Senate.

Mrs. Hodder outlined the procedures followed by the Search Committee for a Vice-Principal Administration and Finance, with consultant Price Waterhouse Coopers, and described the criteria used in assessing the candidates.

The Search Committee completed its work late last week, and was prepared to make a unanimous recommendation for the appointment of Mr. Mark McLaughlin. Mr. McLaughlin is a Bishop's graduate of 1984, a chartered accountant with experience in the private sector, the Caisse de dépôt, and most recently as Director of Finance and Treasurer at Bishop's College School.

A motion approving the appointment was adopted by the Executive Committee at its meeting of 23 March 2001. The effective date is to be negotiated between Mr. McLaughlin and the Principal, and the appointment will be ratified by the Corporation at its meeting in May.

It was moved by Prof. McRae, seconded by Dr. Black, <u>that Senate endorse the recommendation of the Search Committee for the Vice-Principal Administration and Finance.</u>

Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.	
Janyne M. Hodder, Chair	Ann Montgomery, Secretary