Category BU announcements

Bishop’s students, staff and alumni are Saving Lives!

Did you know that every minute of every day, someone in Canada needs blood? And that half of all Canadians will either need blood or know someone who will need blood at some point in their lives? Yet only four percent of Canadians donate. To increase awareness, Bishop’s students, staff and alumni across Canada are partnering with Canadian Blood Services and Héma-Québec to save lives.


Simply book your appointment to give blood – dress in purple on your big day, and then post your photo tagging @HemaQuebec, @itsinyoutogive and @UBishops. You are supporting Bishop’s #BleedPurple campaign.


The #BleedPurple campaign revolves around the feeling of community and pride associated with being part of the Bishop’s family.  You have to experience our campus to truly understand why so many people – students, alumni, faculty and staff – say they #BleedPurple.  It’s about the welcoming smile on the faces of the people you meet.  It’s about the purpose with which our professors teach and build relationships with our students.  It’s about the embrace of a small and tight-knit community you’ll never forget.  It’s about the idyllic charm of our campus architecture and surroundings.  It’s about engaging in the academic and social life of our community and about being socially aware.  It’s about all of this and so much more.

The partnership between Bishop’s, Héma-Québec and Canadian Blood Services takes the premise of being part of a community and being socially aware, and links it with our student recruitment campaign.   Bishop’s is always looking for young women and men to become the next generation of Gaiters but we want students who will build a better Purple, build a better community and strive to be better global citizens.  Does Purple flow through your veins?



Giving blood only takes about an hour and Canada needs at least 85,000 new blood donors this year to meet demand. Your donation can treat cancer patients; bring a car crash victim through surgery; even help a transplant patient’s new heart beat for the first time.

To find your nearest blood donor clinic and book an appointment:

In Quebec:

Call 1-888-666-HEMA (4362)
In the rest of Canada:

Download the GiveBlood App (App Store & Google Play)
Call 1 888 2 DONATE (1-888-236-6283)


Are you donating for the first time and have questions? Visit or and take the eligibility quiz, or learn who your donation helps.


Stem cell transplants are used to treat some 80 diseases and disorders. At any given time, close to 1,000 Canadians are waiting for a stem cell match. Fewer than 25 percent are able to find a match within their own families – meaning 75% rely on the generosity of volunteer donors.

Héma-Québec’s Stem Cell Registry and Canadian Blood Services’ OneMatch Stem Cell and Marrow Network recruits healthy, committed volunteers who are willing to be a match for non-relative patients. With more younger, ethnically diverse males registering with the Stem Cell Registry and OneMatch, we can better meet patients’ needs and increase the likelihood of successful transplants.

If you are between 17 (18 in Quebec) and 35 years of age, in good general health and willing to donate to any patient in need, you could be the one match to save a life. Register at or

For more information about the Bishop’s partnership with Héma-Québec and Canadian Blood Services, contact Dan Seneker

Don Purple and Bleed Red!

Canadian Blood Services Logo Hema-Quebec


U4 League Executive Director

The Presidents of Acadia, Bishop’s, Mount Allison, and St. Francis Xavier Universities are pleased to announce the appointment of Katie Edwards as Executive Director for the U4 League.

Dr. Edwards is an Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Arts (Department of English) at St. Francis Xavier University. She earned her Ph.D. from the University of Edinburgh after graduating from Queen’s University. Over the past three years, in addition to her academic work, she has created a world-class rowing facility that was the recent host of the Canadian University Rowing Championships.

She will be responsible for ensuring the long-term success of the U4, an initiative that promotes and enhances the unique educational environment offered at our universities. The U4 presents a great opportunity for our students and faculty, and is poised to unveil a series of new endeavours in the 2016-2017 academic year.

We have laid a solid foundation of collaboration between our four universities and engaging Dr. Edwards as our first Executive Director will allow the U4 to broaden and intensify its activities.

I am confident that her experiences within academia and with large-scale project management will enable us to develop an organization that will be a model of collaboration and innovation.

Michael Goldbloom, C.M.
Principal and Vice-Chancellor

Launch of Centraide Campaign

We are very excited to invite you to the launch of this year’s campaign for Centraide! As you probably know, Centraide raises money to support local organizations that help break the cycle of poverty and social exclusion.

Here are the event details:

Wednesday, October 5 at 10 a.m.
Cleghorn Room
Cookies and coffee will be served!

We will be joined by Ms. Nadia Choubane, campaign director for the public sector at Centraide, and Mr. Yves Jodoin, chairman of the board of directors at Centraide and former Secretary General at Bishop’s. We will also hear two testimonials from individuals who will explain what Centraide means to them and how past campaigns have impacted the Lennoxville organizations that have helped them.

We hope to raise $12,000 over the course of our three-week campaign. Our team of canvassers will be visiting you to explain how you can donate to the campaign and answer any questions you may have.

Please join us and Principal Goldbloom in this fantastic cause that will improve the quality of life of disadvantaged people right here in Lennoxville!

Francine Turmel, Campaign Chair
Dean, Williams School of Business

Deborah Langford, committee member
Director, Residence & Conference Services

Chantal Sneath, committee member
Communications Officer

Jessica Herrington, committee member
SRC Philanthropy and Wellbeing Events Coordinator

Launch of Centraide Campaign