Appointment of Dean of Science

Appointment of Dean of Science

Dear Bishop’s community,

We are very pleased to advise you that the Board of Governors has approved the appointment of Dr. Kerry Hull as Dean of Science, effective September 1st, 2020, for a three-year period.

The Search Committee was chaired by Dr. Miles Turnbull and included Dr. Estelle Chamoux, Dr. Trevor Jones, Dr. Elizabeth Prusak, Dr. Michael Richardson, Dr. Jason Rowe, Dr. Mary Ellen Donnan, Dr. Elisabeth Levac, Ms. Patricia Elias (Contract Faculty), Ms. Jane Brydges (external member of the Board of Governors) and George-Philippe Gadoury-Sansfaçon (Vice-President Academic of the SRC).

As recommended by an Academic Administrative Structures Committee and approved by the Board of Governors, the position of Dean of Science has been established on a three-year trial basis. The position will be reviewed after two years to determine whether it should be made permanent after August 31, 2023.

Kerry is currently Full Professor in the Department of Biology. She was appointed as Assistant Professor at Bishop’s in 1998.  Kerry is recognized and appreciated by her students as an excellent professor. Her scholarly dossier includes an impressive variety of research projects, publications, conference presentations and knowledge mobilization activities in her fields of expertise, especially in the teaching of anatomy and physiology. Her role as Editor in Chief of the Journal of Human Anatomy and Physiology is but one of the highlights of her impressive dossier.

Dr. Hull has assumed many different service and leadership roles over the years at Bishop’s, including the coordination of the renovation and modernization of the Johnson Building and her experience as co-Dean of Arts & Science in the fall of 2019.  She has served on both Senate and the Board of Governors.

Kerry is an action-oriented individual, exceptionally driven and a creative and strategic thinker. We are confident that she will play a major role in enhancing the quality of, and increasing enrolment in, our Science programs. We are confident that she will provide effective leadership in support of our goal of offering the foremost undergraduate education in Canada.

Please join us in wishing Kerry the very best for the next three years as Dean of Science.

Michael Goldbloom, C.M.
Principal & Vice Chancellor

Miles Turnbull
Vice-Principal Academic & Research