The overall management of the affairs of the University is vested in a Board of Governors.  The Board of Governors shall be responsible for general oversight and policymaking. The Principal and Vice-Chancellor and the University’s Officers shall be responsible for the day-to-day administration of the University as specified herein.

The Board of Governors shall respect the responsibility of the University Senate to adopt policies on academic matters, subject to the approval of the Board of Governors.

The Board of Governors shall respect the provisions of any collective agreement in place from time to time at the University and, in the event of any conflict between the provisions of these Statutes and any such collective agreement, shall interpret the Statutes and the collective agreement in a harmonized manner, to the greatest extent possible.

The Board of Governors shall exercise its powers in a manner consistent with the University’s mission, namely, teaching at the university level, research and service to the community.

Members of the Board of Governors shall fulfill their obligations with impartiality, collegiality, independence, loyalty, transparency, accountability, prudence and diligence, the whole in keeping with the University’s best interests.

Meeting Dates 2023-2024

All meetings are held on Fridays at 3:00 p.m.


  • September 22nd
  • November 3rd
  • December 15th (virtual)


  • March 15th
  • April 26th
  • Retreat
    • Friday, June 14th as of 3:00 p.m. and
    • Saturday, June 15th from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Members of the Board

GovernorTerm ending (June 30th)Nominated by
Abel Bosum2025Nominating Committee
Mark Caduc2025Management Council
Kent Carson2024Nominating Committee
Nanci Chagnon2024Staff Council
Pierre Cossette2026Nominating Committee
Chris Gokiert2026Nominating Committee
Robert Hall2025Nominating Committee
Sébastien Lebel-GrenierEx officio
Murielle Lortie2025Nominating Committee
Heather McKeen-Edwards2025Faculty Council
Suzie O’Bomsawin2024Nominating Committee
Jessica Riddell2026Faculty Council
Junior Sirivar2025Nominating Committee
Sophia Stacey2024Students’ Representative Council
Calin Valsan2025Faculty Council
Tova White2024Nominating Committee
The Secretary General serves as secretary of the Board of Governors