Board of Governors

Board of Governors


The overall management of the affairs of the University is vested in a Board of Governors.  The Board of Governors shall be responsible for general oversight and policymaking. The Principal and Vice-Chancellor and the University’s Officers shall be responsible for the day-to-day administration of the University as specified herein.

The Board of Governors shall respect the responsibility of the University Senate to adopt policies on academic matters, subject to the approval of the Board of Governors.

The Board of Governors shall respect the provisions of any collective agreement in place from time to time at the University and, in the event of any conflict between the provisions of these Statutes and any such collective agreement, shall interpret the Statutes and the collective agreement in a harmonized manner, to the greatest extent possible.

The Board of Governors shall exercise its powers in a manner consistent with the University’s mission, namely, teaching at the university level, research and service to the community.

Members of the Board of Governors shall fulfill their obligations with impartiality, collegiality, independence, loyalty, transparency, accountability, prudence and diligence, the whole in keeping with the University’s best interests.

Meeting Dates 2020-21

All meetings are held on Fridays at 3:00 p.m.


  • September 25th
  • November 6th
  • December 18th


  • February 5th
  • April 30th
  • Retreat:
    • Friday, June 11th as of 3 p.m. and
    • Saturday, June 12th from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Members of the Board

GovernorTerm ending
(June 30th)
Nominated by
Abel Bosum2022Nominating Committee
Jane Brydges2020Nominating Committee
Kent Carson2021Nominating Committee
Pierre Cossette2020Nominating Committee
Michael GoldbloomEx officio
Robert Hall2022Nominating Committee
Marilyn Hardy2020Students’ Representative Council
Brian M. Levitt2022Nominating Committee
Charlene Marion2022Staff Council
Michel Marleau2020Nominating Committee
Heather McKeen-Edwards2022Faculty Council
Cathy McLean2022Nominating Committee
Daniel Miller2021Faculty Council
Scott Stoddard2020Management Council
Calin Valsan2022Faculty Council
Tova White2021Nominating Committee
VacantNominating Committee